Dr. Samuel Alexander Süss

Dr. Samuel Alexander Süss, born on 18.3.1864, originally came from Kisjenö, at that time Hungarian, today the town is located in Romania. He was married to Ernestina Biringer and was the community doctor in Lockenhaus. In 1931 he retired as medical councillor. After their expulsion from Lockenhaus, Dr. Süss and his daughter Irene lived in Flossgasse 3/5 in Vienna's 2nd district until their deportation. They were not deported together.

Dr. Süss was deported on 28.7.1942 and died on 29.12.1942 in the concentration camp Theresienstadt in the then so-called Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia, today the Czech Republic. There is a death notice from the Theresienstadt camp, in which a cardiac insufficiency is given as the cause of death.
There are some tales and stories about Dr. Süss, which some people from Lockenhaus still remember today. In tales of contemporary witnesses he is described as a competent doctor, but above all as a charitable and good person. Thus he is said to have said: "What should I charge you, you have nothing yourself" and "Why should I go away or hide. I have not done anything to anyone". His last hours in Lockenhaus, shortly before the "departure for Vienna" (1), must have been terrible for him. A story from that time tells that he had to slide on his knees down the main road to the transport truck. He was 78 years old when he died in Theresienstadt in 1942.
(1) Gendarmerie report from 28.4.1938 also quoted in: Jewish Life in Lockenhaus by Denise Steiger

According to contemporary witnesses, Dr. Süss had a second daughter, Piroska Süss, born in 1901, in addition to Irene Süss, and no data on her have been found to date.

Samuel
Frottage, Lackenbach, Beth Olam

Dr. Samuel Alexander Süss

Dr. Samuel Alexander Süss, geboren am 18.3.1864, stammte ursprünglich aus Kisjenö, damals ungarisch, heute liegt der Ort in Rumänien. Er war verheiratet mit Ernestina Biringer und Gemeindearzt in Lockenhaus. 1931 trat er als Medizinalrat in den Ruhestand. Dr. Süss und seine Tochter Irene lebten nach ihrer Vertreibung aus Lockenhaus bis zu ihrer Deportation in der Flossgasse 3/5 im 2. Bezirk in Wien. Sie wurden nicht gemeinsam deportiert.

Dr. Süss wurde am 28.7.1942 deportiert und starb am 29.12.1942 im Konzentrationslager Theresienstadt im damals sogenannten Protektorat Böhmen und Mähren, heute Tschechien. Es existiert eine Todesanzeige aus dem Lager Theresienstadt, in der eine Herzmuskelschwäche als Todesursache angegeben wird.

Über Dr. Süss gibt es einige Erzählungen und Geschichten, an die sich auch heute noch einige Lockenhauserinnen und Lockenhauser erinnern können. In Erzählungen von Zeitzeugen wird er als kompetenter Arzt, vor allem aber als wohltätiger und guter Mensch beschrieben. So soll er gesagt haben: „Was soll ich von Ihnen verlangen, Sie haben ja selber nichts.“ und „Warum sollte ich weggehen oder mich verstecken. Ich habe ja niemandem etwas getan.“ Seine letzten Stunden in Lockenhaus, kurz vor der „Abreise nach Wien“ (1), müssen furchtbar für ihn gewesen sein. Eine Erzählung aus dieser Zeit berichtet, dass er auf Knien die Hauptstraße zum Transportlastwagen rutschen musste. Er war 78 Jahre alt, als er 1942 in Theresienstadt starb.

(1) Gendarmeriebericht vom 28.4.1938 zitiert auch in: Jüdisches Leben in Lockenhaus von Denise Steiger

Dr. Süss hatte nach Aussagen von Zeitzeugen neben Irene Süss auch noch eine zweite Tochter, Piroska Süss, geb. 1901. Über sie wurden bislang keine Spuren gefunden.

Samuel
Frottage, Lackenbach, Beth Olam